Design competition: The museum chair

26 October 2018–2 December 2018


Ten Norwegian designers have competed to create a chair for the conference hall and other public areas at the new National Museum. The winner has now been announced as Andreas Engesvik with his contribution “Aura”. The jury, headed by the renowned furniture and industrial designer Jasper Morrison, justify their choice of the winning design with the words:

“Aura” is a beautiful chair that adds a seductive softness and elegance to the room where it will be used. In its design the chair has contours that point both back and forwards in time.

Twenty-six design firms participated in the prequalification round. The ten selected to participate in the competition were: Anderssen & Voll, Andreas Engesvik, Atle Tveit Design, Linda Evensen Design, Hallgeir Homstvedt Design, Stine Aas Design, Morten & Jonas, Torstein Design AS, Vera & Kyte, and Johan Verde Industridesign. All contributions are now on display at Mellomstasjonen.

One of the aims of the competition was to strengthen the museum’s links to the Norwegian design sector, and this we are very proud to have done.

Hanne Raunehaug, project manager for the furnishings project at Statsbygg

The competition is a collaboration between the National Museum and Statsbygg.

Free admission.



Communications Adviser: Hanne Marie Willoch