The National Museum – Architecture

The National Museum – Architecture opened in 2008. The main building, designed by Christian Heinrich Grosch (1801–1865), was completed in 1830 as a division office for Norges Bank. It was adapted and extended by Sverre Fehn (1924–2009), who was awarded the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 1997.

The building is a juxtaposition of classicism and modernist architecture – an encounter between Grosch and Fehn, Norway’s most important architects of the 19th and 20th centuries respectively. The museum’s temporary exhibitions explore both contemporary architecture and historical themes. The architecture collection includes drawings and photographic material, in addition to models and other objects. A new permanent exhibition with works from the architecture collection opened in 2014.


 Address: Bankplassen 3, Oslo

Trams: 12, 13, 19 to Kongens gate
Metro: Stortinget station. All lines stop here
Bus: 60 to Bankplassen, 30, 31 to Kongens gate, 32 to Dronningens gate

 Opening hours




There are steps to the main entrance. Next to the steps there is a sign pointing to the side entrance on the back side of the building. The side entrance is step-free with an entrance control. For more information, see 


Grosch Bistro at the National Museum – Architecture – is an idyllic setting for a snack or a meal amidst stunning architecture and art in the heart of Oslo’s historic Kvadraturen area.

Bankplassen 3 Morten T (19).jpg

About the National Museum – Architecture

In 1975 the National Association of Norwegian Architects established the Norwegian Museum of Architecture. In 1998 this was transformed into a foundation. Having become part of the National Museum on 1 July 2003, the Museum of Architecture eventually closed the doors of its old exhibition venue in Kongens gate 4 in March 2005. Three years later it was re-launched as the National Museum – Architecture in newly refurbished and extended premises at Bankplassen 3.